"Greatness and Decadence" at the Scuola Grande San Giovanni Evangelista in Venice

Saturday, 22nd September, at 8:00 pm, the theme 'Greatness and Decadence' will be developed in a concert by the orchestra Les Agrémens, directed by Guy van Waas, with the participation of soprano Jennifer Borghi.

Many composers from the Baroque age tried their hands at the noble subjects of Antiquity. With the greatest passion the pre-romanticism intensifies the furore and torment of figures such as Phaedra, Iphigenia, Eurydice, Olympia and Medea. Protagonists of the concert: the Belgian orchestra Les Agrémens playing period instruments, the conductor Guy van Waas and the Italo-American mezzosoprano Jennifer Borghi.

Programme notes

Antonio Salieri (1750-1825)
Les Danaïdes (ouverture)

Jean-Baptiste Lemoyne (1704–1778)
Phèdre, aria of Phèdre: "Hyppolite succombe…"

Christoph Willibald Gluck (1714-1787)
Orphée et Eurydice (ballets)

Rodolphe Kreutzer (1766-1831)
Ipsiboé, aria of Ipsiboé: "Anciens maîtres de la Provence"

Johann Christian Bach (1735-1782)
Amadis de Gaule, aria of Arcabonne: "Bientôt l’ennemi qui m’outrage"

Juan Crisóstomo de Arriaga (1806-1826)
Symphonie en ré majeur

Gaspare Spontini (1774-1851)
Olympie, aria of Statira: "Ô déplorable mère"

Performers: Jennifer Borghi, mezzosoprano - Orchestra Les Agrémens - Guy van Waas, conductor
Where: Venice, Scuola Grande San Giovanni Evangelista, San Polo, 2454
When: Saturday, 22nd September 2012 - At 8:00 pm
Info: [Palazzetto Bru Zane] [Scuola San Giovanni] [Jennifer Borghi]